top of page
  • Writer's picturezmanfilms

After kneeling during national anthem, LeBron James hopes he made Colin Kaepernick proud

Updated: Aug 4, 2020



LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. – As he knelt down and locked arms during the national anthem Thursday night, Los Angeles Lakers star LeBron James did not just protest systemic racism. He also wanted to send a message to former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick.

“I hope we made Kaep proud. I hope we continue to make Kaep proud every single day. I hope I make him proud with how I live my life, not only on the basketball floor but off the floor,” James said after the Lakers’ 103-101 win over the Clippers Thursday. “I’ve been one to always speak out about things that I feel like is unjust. If I’m educated on things, I always go about it that way. So Kaep was someone who stood up when times weren't comfortable, and people didn’t understand or refused to listen to what he was saying.”


Four years ago, Kaepernick first knelt during the national anthem to protest racial inequality and police brutality. But he received immediate backlash amid charges that he was disrespecting the flag and the military by performing a peaceful protest during the national anthem.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page